2015 LSO Annual Awards Gala Dinner

Wednesday, February 25th, 2015
Liberty Grand, Exhibition Place
25 British Columbia Road, Toronto

Click here to purchase a table or ticket for the Gala.
Click here to download the Invitation
Click here for a printable registration form


Click here to download full press release

TORONTO, ON – (December 4th, 2014) – Life Sciences Ontario (LSO) announced today the 2015 LSO award winners. Each year, LSO recognizes outstanding achievements in the life sciences sector. The awards will be presented at the LSO Annual Awards Gala on February 25, 2015 at the historic Liberty Grand. The award recipients include:

Lifetime Achievement Award:

· A highly respected leader who has inspired and led the community to imagine a bigger future in life sciences

· An individual who is highly recognized as a significant contributor in more than one domain: industry, government, academia, volunteerism and philanthropy in Ontario                 

John Oliver headshotJohn Oliver, B.S.A., Chairman, Flax Canada 2015 Inc.; Advisory Board, Canadian Agri-Food Policy Institute and President, Maple Leaf Bio-Concepts & Lojon Associates  International.


Community Service Award:

· An individual who in their career has helped build the life sciences community in Ontario and strengthen its local and global reputation

· This individual will have gone above & beyond the call of duty


Dr. Luis Barreto MBBS, MD, MHSc, President, Dr. Luis Barreto & Associates & Special Advisor, Vaccine Program, Human Health Therapeutics, Canada’s National Research Council (NRC).  

Public Service Award:

· A current or former Municipal, Provincial or Federal nonelected public servant who has helped build the life science community in Ontario in various ways that could include: innovative policy, structural support, development of research, commercialization of intellectual property or developing public private partnerships   

Deb StarkDr. Deb Stark, MBA, Deputy Minister of the Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

LSO Volunteer Award:

· An active participant in the life sciences community who receives no remuneration for volunteer work

· An individual who finds a way to help and adds energy to life science initiatives and events in Ontario

Christine BeyaertChristine Beyaert, Counsellor, Cohn & Wolfe

Life Sciences Company of the Year:

· An Ontario-based company active in life science research and development and involved in moving innovative products into or closer to commercialization

· Open to all companies from the broad life science community including but not limited to human health, agri-food, and industrial biotechnology

· The company should be pre-commercialization or early-stage commercialization and has demonstrated leadership and achieved milestones   







Xagenic Inc.

Shana Kelley, Founder & Chief Technology Officer

"As the voice for the life sciences sector in Ontario, we feel that it is important to recognize and celebrate the outstanding contributions of individuals and companies within our vibrant and diverse industry" said Paul Lucas, Board Chair of Life Sciences Ontario. "This years' LSO awards recipients continue our tradition of recognizing the very best within Ontario's life sciences ecosystem."

"The LSO Awards have become a prestigious honour because of the high caliber of past and present award recipients" said Jason Field, President and CEO of Life Sciences Ontario. "These award recipients continue to inspire us to be active members of Ontario's life sciences community and to work collaboratively to position Ontario as a global leader in life sciences."  

Please contact our office for more details around ticket sales or sponsorship opportunities.

- 30 -


Life Sciences Ontario (LSO) is a member-driven organization that represents more than 150 life science companies, service providers, academic and research institutes, partner organizations, individuals and students in Ontario. Together, our members represent more than 17,000 employees, researchers and students across the provinces life sciences sector. LSO collaborates with governments, academia, industry and other life science organizations in Ontario and across Canada to promote and encourage commercial success throughout the diverse life sciences sector. We do this through advocacy, economic development, mentorship and professional development programs, educational and networking events and promotion of our industry locally, nationally and internationally. LSO is the Voice for Life Sciences in Ontario.


Life Sciences Ontario  
1 Concorde Gate Suite 109
Toronto ON, M3C 3N6  



Please note that this year’s Award recipients will be honoured at the Life Sciences Ontario Annual Awards Gala Dinner to be held at the Liberty Grand, Exhibition Place, Toronto on Wednesday February 25th 2015.

2014 LSO Award Gala Highlights

In case you missed the LSO Awards Gala, videos of our award winners have been posted to our YouTube Channel
Click here to view the some of photos from the evening.

2014 Award Recipients:

Mark Lievonen – Lifetime Achievement Award
Ronald Pearlman –
Community Services Award
Andrew Yoshioka –
Volunteer of the Year
DVS Sciences -
Emerging Life Sciences Company of the Year

Thank you to our  Sponsors

2013 LSO Award Gala Highlights

In case you missed the LSO Awards Gala, videos of our award winners have been posted to our YouTube Channel
Click here
to view the Lifetime Achievement Award Video
Click here
to view the some of photos from the evening.

2013 Award Recipients:

Mark Poznansky – Lifetime Achievement Award
Ulrich Krull –
Community Services Award
Magda Choruzy –
Volunteer of the Year
Maurice Bitran –
Public Service Award
EcoSynthetix -
Emerging Life Sciences Company of the Year